Touching the Good, Green Spaces

Yesterday, I went for a walk to “decompress” a bit. Walked through “The Big, Grassy Field.” The Big, Grassy Field is a vacant lot ’round the corner from us, where nobody sprays anything, and all the wild herbs grow, each in their season… and where everyone dumps whatever trash is in their hands along the path through it. The kids don’t seem to notice the garbage, though. They’re too busy LOVING the grass and herbs and free space to run and play. Their world is right whenever we take a break, or have a reward and go to The Big, Grassy Field.

At any rate, I was walking said path through said Big, Grassy Field, and I registered being “on the edge”– like I could get angry about the smog and asphalt and fast food smells and society in general and all, or I could focus on something good. I felt YHWH telling me, “Focus on the good, green things.” I found all the plants with their colors and flowers… “Touch the good, green things.” I touched the herbs. Normally, I’m more a “use the herbs” type, rather than a “touch the herbs” type LOL!  Found some to bring home & show the kids– different stages of development of horsetail (which one of my kiddos promptly ID’d when I got home, and from the most difficult sample, first :-D). I felt more “grounded.” I felt YHWH saying, “When you can, touch the good, green things, and make them grow.”  It wasn’t just about plants. I could see the vision of strong, healthy plants, breaking up pavement and tearing down the mess we’ve made… but it’s not just nature. It’s building the “good, green things” in people, where I find them, and “making the good, green things grow, when I can.” …in difficult relationships… and not-so-difficult ones… in whoever I happen to meet and “touch.” My job is to nurture the “good, green spaces.” …in the children, and in their parents, through my book…(s), blog(s) & what-not. “Find the good, green spaces. Touch it. Make it grow.”
May YHWH richly and abundantly bless you and yours, and may He touch the good, green spaces in all of you, and make it grow.

3 comments
  1. sweet friend, i love this. when you shared it with me recently, it registered right away in my mind with a big YES, this is such a good word and resonates. you *DO* already nourish the green things. i love when we receive such a clear, peaceful message – so good.
    hugs.

  2. Hugs, Mama– you have your own beautiful garden 🙂 Love to you & yours… and may YHWH provide the increase, in perfect timing.

Leave a Reply

