Life and Icecream

I was asked a couple of questions today, and thought I’d write the answers here:

First one was how I make my non-dairy, sugar-free icecream:

I use coconut milk. Amounts are approximate. I tend to experiment a bit with each batch:
2 cans coconut milk (I always do the organic b/c the conventional stuff tastes metallic)
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup cocoa powder or a smaller bit of some other flavoring
1/2 tsp Real Salt
Stir together, and put in freezer. Stir every 15-20 minutes.
If you use a flavoring that isn’t so powdery, you might want a little beef gelatin dissolved into hot water to stir into it to thicken it a bit.

Second one was what Etz Chail means:
Etz means Tree, and Chail means “of life” or “of virtue.”
Etz Chail is tree of life, or tree of virtue. The wooden sticks in the ends of a Torah Scroll are called the “Trees of Life.” I’m learning to “eat” from these “trees” that give me wisdom for living.

Leave a Reply

