Sweat

When I was in the toxic house, I was miserably cold all winter because we had to keep the windows open so that I could breathe. Anytime we shut the windows, I’d asphyxiate. That was problematic because the cold would freeze my joints up even worse, and the lumps would get bigger– especially overnight. As excruciatingly painful as it was to move (I had to use my best labor coping skills to do it), it was absolutely necessary, because I’d only get worse if I didn’t. I found myself afraid to go to bed at night, because I knew how miserable the morning would be, and didn’t want to have to face being so crippled that Hubby would have to carry me to the bathroom in the morning… again.

I learned to sleep with a heated rice bag (other grain works, too) on my stomach and other heated bags on the worst of my joints, with those joints elevated, to keep my lymph fluid moving during the night. This usually made for better mornings– not good, but better.

After we finally figured out that it was the house (see “Camping out with God”), and moved out, I spent a few months just recouping  as much as I could, while helping to decontaminate those things that could be saved.

At some point… maybe it was that summer… we figured out that the more I sweated, the more the lumps shrank, and a few of them disappeared entirely that first year. A few years later, after using a sauna once a month (budget is tight, so we do what we can) I’ve seen a few lumps that I’ve had since I was a teenager disappear as well. I still have two small ones left over, but they get smaller when I use a sauna. Sweating is great medicine for me in this imperfect world of toxic houses, toxic fumes from asphalt plants, toxic neighbors who have no clue what they’re doing to their own bodies, let alone the air around them… One word of caution: I found that I had to bring Real Salt Water with me to the sauna to stay well-hydrated and keep my electrolytes balanced, especially at first.
Point is, I don’t live in the Garden of Eden. None of us do. And yet… we’re given some bit of a direction to point in looking for a solution for this imperfect existence… Hmmm… Thorns, Thistles, Sweat, and Dust…

Genesis 3:

17Then to Adam He said, “Because you have listened to the voice of your wife, and have eaten from the tree about which I commanded you, saying, ‘You shall not eat from it’;
Cursed is the ground because of you;
In toil you will eat of it
All the days of your life.

18“Both thorns and thistles it shall grow for you;
And you will eat the plants of the field;

19By the sweat of your face
You will eat bread,
Till you return to the ground,
Because from it you were taken;
For you are dust,
And to dust you shall return.”

Thorns and Thistles here:

https://leavesheal.wordpress.com/2011/09/11/pathways-to-answers-thorns-thistles-and-blessings/

… and Dust… I’ll save that bit for another post.. but it’s good stuff, too 😉

Standard Disclaimer:

I’m  no doc, and don’t pretend to be one. I am therefore not legally licensed to diagnose, cure, treat, prevent, or otherwise mitigate any disease, and neither is the stuff I generally choose for healing… but then, I’ve not been educated indoctrinated by boards with big pharma reps on them, either ;-)   so do your own research and find what works for you :-)

Leave a Reply

