Tastes Better With Salt

Excerpt from the book I’m writing:

Tastes Better With Salt

So there’s this health-nutty thing where folks say to steer clear of salt. Well… the bleached stuff, yes! Absolutely! Nasty-tasting stuff, and you can tell by looking at it that there are no trace minerals left by the time it makes it to your grocer.

There’s an entirely different product, though, that’s been around for thousands of years (no bleaching required), and that was prescribed for the holiest men on earth to eat: Real Sea Salt. This stuff is GREAT for re-balancing whatever’s out-of-whack in my body. When I was living in the Toxic House, I’d sometimes start blacking out, and have to sit down all of a sudden, and sometimes the black-out wouldn’t stop. I learned from my Chinese MD’s wife to drink Real Salt in water when I started to feel dizzy. After that, I’d  have my son go and fetch me a glass of water with a spoonful of Real Salt in it whenever I felt it coming on. Only a few sips would bring me back out of it, and beautifully! I’d go from “Oh, crud– I’m losing consciousness!” to “Ok, I can walk now.” in a matter of minutes.

Real SaltAside from that, some Real Salt in bathwater is great for my aches and pains and skin problems!

Leviticus 2:13

Every grain offering of yours, moreover, you shall season with salt, so that the salt of the covenant of your God shall not be lacking from your grain offering; with all your offerings you shall offer salt. “

This was Levitical law– the priests got to eat most of the offerings that the people brought in– part of how they lived, since they didn’t have their own land-inheritance. These people were instructed to eat salt with their grains.

II Kings 2:20-22

‘He said, “Bring me a new jar, and put salt in it.” So they brought it to him. He went out to the spring of water and threw salt in it and said, “Thus says the LORD, ‘I have purified these waters; there shall not be from there death or unfruitfulness any longer.’” So the waters have been purified to this day, according to the word of Elisha which he spoke. ‘

Prophets needed to drink water, and the water was bad. This was the solution… HMM… something good about pure saltwater to heal water? Aren’t we mostly made of water? Just maybe there’s something good about pure saltwater for healing us, too?

Ezekiel 43:24

You shall present them before YHWH, and the priests shall throw salt on them, and they shall offer them up as a burnt offering to the YHWH.”

Even the burnt offerings required salt.

Job 6:6

Can something tasteless be eaten without salt,
Or is there any taste in the white of an egg? “

This was Job talking– that guy who suffered through horrible misery– remember him? Even he knew you can’t eat an egg without salt!

I was also looking at these verses where YHWH is speaking to Israel:
“As for your birth, on the day you were born your navel cord was not cut, nor were you washed with water for cleansing; you were not rubbed with salt or even wrapped in cloths. “No eye looked with pity on you to do any of these things for you, to have compassion on you. Rather you were thrown out into the open field, for you were abhorred on the day you were born. ” Ezekiel 16:4-5

I didn’t understand how anyone could think of rubbing a newborn down with salt, let alone having that be something “good” that someone should have pity on the infant an do for them! Later, when I read it again, after having used the salt in baths, it made so much sense! My midwives use Real Salt and herbal teas in baths after childbirth regularly. Keeps the baby and mother from getting infections of any sort, and speeds healing time! Feels great after delivery, too! Maybe we wouldn’t need the bizarre chemical stuff they do to infants and mothers in hospitals if we’d just read this, and line it up with what works in the natural remedies?!

This nebulous “something good“ about real sea salt, the way it was before we thought to bleach it, is a path I’ve walked down a little ways. Maybe someone else can walk it farther… The gist of it, though, is that our Designer gave us taste buds that LIKE salt. There’s something good about the things we crave. That’s not to say that we can’t poison ourselves on excesses and certainly on “fake stuff” or “twisted foods”– things that have been adulterated from their original form– we can, and we have! It doesn’t change the fact that our Designer loves us, and gave us the tools to take pleasure in the things that are really good for us!

Standard Disclaimer:

I’m  no doc, and don’t pretend to be one. I am therefore not legally licensed to diagnose, cure, treat, prevent, or otherwise mitigate any disease, and neither is the stuff I generally choose for healing… but then, I’ve not been educated indoctrinated by boards with big pharma reps on them, either ;-)   so do your own research and find what works for you :-)

Leave a Reply

